📝 Feedback

Muscle Tissue And Types of Muscle Tissue

MUSCLE TISSUE is the only tissue in the body that is specialised for contraction (shortening). The body contains three types of muscle tissue: skeletal, smooth, and cardiac. Each type of muscle tissue exhibits unique structural and functional characteristics. Contraction of skeletal muscle tissue produces locomotion, movement of body parts, and movement of the skin, as in making facial expressions. Cardiac muscle tissue produces the driving force responsible for pumping blood through the cardiovascular system. Smooth muscle tissue is responsible for various internal functions, such as controlling the movement of blood through blood vessels and air through respiratory passageways. It is also directly involved in vision and moving contents through hollow internal organs.


Types of Muscle Tissue

NucleusMany peripherally located nucleiSingle centrally located nucleusUsually a single centrally located nucleus
CellsLong and parallel, called fibersShort; tapered ends; parallelShort and branching; intercalated discs join cells end to end to form network
Neural controlVoluntaryInvoluntaryInvoluntary
ContractionsFast, variable fatigability; slow, resistant to fatigueSlow; resistant to fatigueRhythmic; resistant to fatigue
LocationAttached to bones, dermis, ligaments and other musclesWalls of hollow visceral organs and blood and lymphatic vessels, skin, and inside eyesWall of the heart
Rate this Article: 1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (57 votes, average: 4.53 out of 5)
Trusted By The World’s Best