📝 Feedback

Bones and Cartilages

Osteology of the Head and Neck

The study of osteology (bony skeleton) of head and neck creates the foundation to understand this region. The skeleton of head and neck includes skull, cervical vertebrae and hyoid bone. The pupils should study the skull and cervical vertebrae extensively linking their principal features to the bony

Axis C2

The second cervical vertebra, commonly known as C2 is also called the axis. It is a peculiar cervical vertebra which possesses distinctive attributes and significant relations that facilitates its detection. The odontoid process is its most protuberant aspect, which is the body of the atlas or C1

Inferior Nasal Concha (Turbinate Bone)

There are 2 inferior nasal conchae. Every inferior nasal concha projects downwards from the lateral wall of the nasal cavity. It’s a curved bony plate and presents these features: Medial and lateral surfaces. Superior and inferior edges. Anterior and posterior ends. Medial and Lateral Surfaces The medial

Nasal Bone

Each one of the nasal bone has four bones, which create joints: two cranium as well as two facial bones. The cranium bones: the ethmoid and frontal. The facial bones: the maxilla and opposite nasal. Each nasal bone has four borders: the superior, inferior, lateral, and medial.


The skull is the bony skeleton of the head. Excluding ear ossicles, it is made of 22 bones. All the bones of skull, joined together by sutures, are immobile and create the cranium, with the exception of mandible (bone of lower jaw). On the other hand, the

Trusted By The World’s Best